Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the ActiveAngler.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Raw Pawn
    Post Thanks / Like

Default What Type of Fishing Line Do I Need?

Hi. I am new to fishing. So I don't know much. Today I bought a new rod+reel combo and I went fishing to the river (Ross). I caught two fishes that both broke off my fishing line. I was wondering if anyone can tell me what type of fishing line I need to go with my rod+reel for 5 kgs. Thanks.

Yellowfin Tuna
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi there,can you give us a little more info about the combo,where you were fishing, and has anyon explained about setting the drag on the reel so if the fish wants to run,the reel will release line so it doesnt break
    chewy..
    Fishing with fly..its the quest..not the conquest..

Raw Pawn
    Post Thanks / Like

Sure. What exactly do you wanna know? Yes I know about the drag. I let the fish run and then When I was pulling it back the line broke.

Yellowfin Tuna
    Post Thanks / Like

Were you fishing in the salt,did you get the sinker and swivel back,if using one. Some of the townsville fishos may be able to shed some light on if there are any bities where you were fishing. Maybe all you need is to get a spool of slightly heavier leader/trace material. What sort of fish were you chasing,and were you using bait or lures?
    cheers,,chewy..
    Fishing with fly..its the quest..not the conquest..

Raw Pawn
    Post Thanks / Like

Ok. I don't know if I was fishing in the salt. But I was fishing here. At the end of the rod's line I had a sinker, a swivel and another line (40 lb, 0.55 mm diameter). I didn't get anything back. I am not really after a specific fish. I was using prawns as bait.

Staff
    Post Thanks / Like

How are you going edemirci, welcome to the site.